FAQ: Car Accidents

What do I do if I'm in an accident?
How do I know who was at fault in an accident?
When should I get a lawyer?
What is the Statute of Limitations for car accidents in Nevada?
What are the minimum insurance requirements in Nevada?
What if the other driver does not have insurance?


What do I do if I'm in an accident?
Call the police. Take pictures. Get medical treatment right away. Don't talk to the insurance companies. Call an attorney.

back to the top

How do I know who was at fault in an accident?
Fault can be a tricky thing to determine. If police are called to the scene, they may attribute fault to a party. Ultimately, Nevada has statutes that dictate the Rules of the Road and control who would be at fault. Proving fault is another thing altogether. Sometimes the people involved in the collision do not agree on the facts of the collision. An attorney can assist in sorting this out as well.

back to the top

When should I get a lawyer?
Hire a lawyer as soon as possible after the accident. Your injuries are priority, so make sure you get the medical treatment you need first. Once that is taken care of and stabilized, get an attorney. The earlier an attorney gets involved in your case, the easier it will be for them to preserve evidence. Additionally, there are time limits involved that a victim of a car accident must abide by. It is better to have an attorney to worry about these things so the victim can focus on getting better.

back to the top

What is the Statute of Limitations for car accidents in Nevada?
The Statute of Limitations, or time period in which you have to file your lawsuit, on a standard negligence car accident case is generally 2 years. There are exceptions to this, so it is important to consult with an attorney immediately to learn your rights.

back to the top

What are the minimum insurance requirements in Nevada?
The minimum insurance every driver must have in Nevada is 15/30/10. This means $15,000 per person for bodily injury, $30,000 per incident for bodily injury, and $10,000 property damage.

back to the top

What if the other driver does not have insurance?
Unfortunately, many drivers on Nevada's roadways do not carry valid insurance. The best way to protect yourself and your loved ones is to carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage on your own policy. This is your safety net to make sure you are covered in an accident, without relying on the negligent driver to have insurance, or have enough insurance to cover your damages.

Related Topics

FAQ: Personal Injury

Contact an Experienced Attorney Today

If you have a question about a personal injury claim from a motor vehicle accident, please contact our law firm for a free initial consultation at 702-438-8060 or use the form to the side to send us an email inquiry.